Can connect to server externally, but not internally.

kevinyoki

kevinyoki

I have emby server running on a windows mini pc connected to wifi in my home. I can connect and watch things just fine outside my home network (wifi on my laptop, wifi & 4G on my phone) but I cannot connect with any other windows computers inside my home network. Always getting "We're unable to connect to the selected server right now. Please ensure it is running and try again." I've already looked through countless threads on this forum with similar issues. I'm not too tech savvy but I've done a lot of troubleshooting.

• Tried everything here already https://emby.media/support/articles/Connectivity.html 
  • Tried turning off firewall on both ends (I do not have third party firewall nor VPNs)
  • Tried setting network profiles to private
  • Tried forward TCP Port 8096 both internal and external
  • Tried different browsers (with http) and the emby theater windows app
  • Tried connecting the server via ethernet cable and wifi
  • Turned on "media streaming options" in windows control panel on all devices

Strangely, I can access the server on my phone (via app or mobile browser) when it's connected to my home wifi. It's just my windows computer/laptop that cannot get access. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by kevinyoki

Hello kevinyoki,

** This is an auto reply **

Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you.

It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread:

Thank you.

Emby Team

pwhodges

First thing to check: is your server machine's networking set to "public" - it should be "private".

Paul

pwhodges

Are you trying to access internally using your external address?  Some routers allow this, others don't, or it may be an option.  Try using your server's local address.

Paul

kevinyoki

Yes, I have been using the local address since the start. Although I have attempted using the external address to see if it would work.