Embeded Metadata in mkv/mp4 files

DCNerds

DCNerds

I am new to Emby, but I am not new to technology or media servers. I have had media servers since Windows NT 3.5/4.0 Server (yeah, I am that old).

Current Server: Synology DS1621+ (AMD Ryzen 32Gb RAM)/Emby v4.8.3.0 -- Players: Roku Ultra 4 and Web Browsers

META ISSUE 1

My first movie media library had about 250 items. I noticed 12 or so movies did not display the correct meta information; Robin Hood (1991) - 1K.mkv and You Only Live Twice (1967).mkv, and The Two Towers (2002) - Extended Edition-disk1.mkv had the 'wrong' cover art. OK STOP.... I know I can (and did) update the mkv files from the meta manager, but from my perspective I should not have to. Why you ask?...

For years I have been using MetaX to add metadata and art to my mp4/mkv files. (I am NOT affiliated with or endorsing MetaX, I am simply providing information to expatiate a resolution) Here are screen shots of MetaX, and Windows Explorer displaying the expected metadata. I have also noticed many of my embedded short/long descriptions are being ignored/not imported as well.

So yes, I am new to Emby, is there a setting/plugin I missed? I am frustrated, from my perspective, Emby should be using my data FIRST but it appears you are not.  I should not have to check every movie every time I add a new file to the server, but I fell like I have to. Help/Thanks.

META ISSUE 2 (Should this be a separate post?)

Overview: I have 2 volumes, volume1 is for my company/work/web files, volume2 is the media drive with mp3/mp4/mkv files. volume2 is at 85% capacity, so as a temporary fix, I added a media folder to volume1 and gave Emby R/W permission to that folder.