Remote Access using Emby Connect not working

EkoOne
Go to solution Solved by EkoOne,

After numerous failed attempts I was finally able to access Emby remotely on my iPhone. Well, sort of.

Upon connection I was presented with the default user sign-in page (with no Emby Connect option despite having an account). I was able to sign-in but despite being able to navigate between libraries as expected they are all empty, no media is being displayed (see photo).

I'm using http (not https) on port 8096. Since I'm able to sign-in and navigate the port is obviously accessible remotely through my network security and it seems unlikely my ISP (Comcast) or cell provider (T-Mobile) are blocking anything. As an Admin I have access to all of the libraries. I'm also using an NVIDIA Shield as the server and can't see anything in the device settings that would interfere. I thought perhaps it was the VPN on my phone so I disconnected it but the problem persists. 

Any ideas?

emby.jpg

If you download the log files using the server web interface they will be anonymized. You can also PM it to me.

Blazejos

Hi @EkoOneI'm using remote access to my emby server all the time, it works fine. It's most likely a router config problem. My config is as follows:

Ext IP/domain:port <- -> (ext port) Router <- -> (internal IP:port) of emby server. 

Make sure to use TCP/UDP both directions on the router internal IP:port forwarding and check for "loopback DNS", so you can login from your phone same way from outside and inside your network, always using external login address.