MacOS to Android

sundevil67

sundevil67

I’ve been using Apple products pretty much exclusively for > 20 years now, and admit I am not a big fan of the Android OS. That said, my 2011 Mac Mini is no longer capable of running Emby Server, and I don’t have $1k exactly burning a hole in my pocket for a new one. I came across a bunch of Android boxes like this one for around $30, and am wondering if something like this could be a viable interim solution until I can get a new Mac. 

• I’ve noticed that pretty much all of them come with 4GB of RAM or less. Is this adequate, or will it be slow like the Mac (which has at least 16GB)?
  • I have been regularly backing up my Emby Server settings. Is it fairly straightforward and painless to switch from MacOS server? Will I be able to retain all of my existing settings and metadata?

Thanks for any input.

sundevil67
On 11/14/2023 at 3:29 PM, Luke said:

Hi, regarding backup, please take a look at our backup guide and let us know if this helps:

Configuration Backup

Thanks.

I did a quick glance and thought that was just about backup procedures. Now that I got a closer look, I see there are instructions about restoring from the backup & migrating to a new OS. I also noticed it says library contents & metadata are not backed up. When I factor in the general 10x level of difficulty & hassle automatically added when adding Android to any equation, and see all of the potential pitfalls like losing directory locations, etc., it looks like a gigantic debacle that isn't worth the effort. If Apple were to discontinue its OS, leaving no choice but to switch to Android permanently, that'd be something else, but I think I'll just wait for the new hardware.