Roku TV Stopped playing with subtitles

jatobi
Go to solution Solved by Luke,

I've been using Emby for a couple years now to watch my Anime and Movies on my Roku TV.  I've had some issues here and there but have always been able to resolve them by following the errors in the logs.  I am completely stumped right now.

As of Monday it was working. Nothing was changed, no app was updated.  Error has stayed the same. 

Line 7617: 2023-11-02 14:03:02.654 Error SubtitleFontsManager: Error copying file from /var/packages/EmbyServer/var/metadata/SubtitleFonts/Roboto-Medium.351704.ttf to /var/packages/EmbyServer/var/transcoding-temp/A965A7/A965A7_Fonts/Roboto-Medium.ttf

This is the only error I can find.  So I kept trying to fix it.  I uninstalled Emby, deleted the folder through File station, and reinstalled it. I added my folders and set permissions, scanned the media and attempted to play: Same issue.

I said okay, let's try Docker, installed the latest version, same issue.

So I updated to DSM 7.1, which is the latest I can use with my DS1515+. DSM 7.1.1-42962 Update 6.  I followed the guide outlined here:

And yet the issue still persists.

To be clear:  Emby is working perfectly on my PC via Firefox, and my iphone 14 via Firefox.  Disabling subtitles allows the Roku TV app to play the files as well, but no subtitles.

I've tried with various episodes, ones I've watched previously with no issue, all result in this issue.

Attached are the emby and transcoding logs.  I sent a Roku log at 2:17pm EST under user Emby attempting to play the file attached in the log.

ffmpeg-transcode-d6eeee9f-9420-4382-aa0b-207f6f4a2f09_1.txt embyserver.txt

It is a permissions issue with the OS.

The error specifically says error copying:

from
/var/packages/EmbyServer/var/metadata/SubtitleFonts/Roboto-Medium.351704.ttf
to
/var/packages/EmbyServer/var/transcoding-temp/A965A7/A965A7_Fonts/Roboto-Medium.ttf

In order to do that the "emby" user must have access to these paths