Emby never Direct Playing any media on any client

cochize1

cochize1

I didn't pay much of an attention to that but lately I started playing with Grafana for some stats and it caught my eye that my Emby configuration never direct plays and almost always direct streams. I don't have any 4K content, most are 1080p or 720p x264 (just lately I started adding x265 since more browsers now support this). I have around 15 friends connecting remotely and some members of family on local network over wi-fi using mostly Android TV app. My internet is 750/40 Mb and most of my remote access users has fairly good as well (def over 60 Mbps).

image.png.5915398553535788514d15af19eeb779.png

My server configuration is: Emby on Synology NAS (standalone app, not in docker), port changed from 8096 to 8099 and build-in Synology NGINX reverse proxy for https remote access.

I attached logs trying to play 2 simple 720p files on Chrome browser, Android TV app and Emby for Android app, they all Direct Stream where they should Direct Play. My friend was playing a HEVC file on Chromcast while the logs were taken and that was transcoding but that is for another topic) I also checked if that might be some proxy issue but checked on local address in Chrome Browser http://192.168.0.10:8099 also Direct Streams.

Would love to convert all that streaming to direct playing, any ideas on how to pinpoint what is the issue here?

ffmpeg-transcode-3d9a7ee4-5e27-46b0-bfbf-cf6d5e7c023c_1.txt embyserver.txt

Edited by cochize1

sross44
1 hour ago, cochize1 said: