Hue sync kills my Fire TV stick

sambarlick

sambarlick

Hi,

I'm brand new to the Fire TV stick. I've been using a shield and a Sony tv with Android TV previously.

I'm having an issue with high bitrate files (50+ Mbps) that kill the Fire TV stick and make it shut down.

I have tried adjusting the max quality from Auto to 1000 to 160 to 130 to 120 to 100. I have also tried toggling match frame rate and resolution options.

My Fire TV stick is getting 150+ Mbps speed in the native OS speed test.

Amazon have replaced the device twice already.

Is this an issue with the emby app or the Fire TV stick?

Thanks, Sam

chacawaca

i dont know if your device is this version.

Fire TV Stick 4K Max - 1st Gen

https://www.developer.amazon.com/docs/fire-tv/device-specifications-fire-tv-streaming-media-player.html

seem limited to 35 Mbps.

• H.265 (HEVC). Hardware accelerated up to 3840x2160p (4K) @ 60fps, 35 Mbps, Main 10 Profile Level 5.1, Color space 8-bit and 10-bit input with HDR10, HDR10+, and HLG.

rbjtech

So related to the above - what is the bitrate of your video files ?    Are they greater than 80Mbit/sec ?

My 4K and 4K Max devices stream full remux 4K files averaging 60-80Mbit/sec without issues (over a usb dongle) - so while Amazon themselves specify only 35Mbit/sec - the SOC can do a lot more from my experience.

This is with the Amazon store Emby for FireTV App.

I've never seen a device shutdown due to load ...

Edited by rbjtech

sambarlick
6 hours ago, chacawaca said:

i dont know if your device is this version.

Fire TV Stick 4K Max - 1st Gen

https://www.developer.amazon.com/docs/fire-tv/device-specifications-fire-tv-streaming-media-player.html

seem limited to 35 Mbps.

• H.265 (HEVC). Hardware accelerated up to 3840x2160p (4K) @ 60fps, 35 Mbps, Main 10 Profile Level 5.1, Color space 8-bit and 10-bit input with HDR10, HDR10+, and HLG.

Mine is the 4K Max (AFTKA).

sambarlick
5 hours ago, rbjtech said: