Live TV Guide

plexile

plexile

Hi there, I'm a long time Plex user from the Netherlands. But I've been growing dissatisfied with the changes happening with their software and someone recently recommended Emby to me. I've been taking a look at Emby over the last few days and I like what i see, except for one key area.

I watch a lot of live TV through my Plex server and I just much prefer the user interface that they have in their guide.

1. I have an IPTV subscription so the channel numbers are of no consequence to me. The logos tell me which channel is which. In Plex the guide looks nice and neat and uses the available space well

image.thumb.png.7bc7f0c775b5d7fe5fb6be86f2309ac9.png

In Emby the channel numbers are shown and there is a lot of wasted space between the numbers and the logo

image.thumb.png.04b7b13ccf87015a1350ff962fbf61b1.png

The width of the channel column is more than double what it needs to be for no reason. I don't even need to see the channel numbers but seeing all that wasted space is quite upsetting!

2. The other thing i really prefer of Plex over Emby is how they make the channel groups quick and accessible to use. As you can see below the channel groups are always available at the top of the EPG with a single click.

image.thumb.png.494b36d61fcaa2a26d00324f07822dc6.png

In Emby it takes me 4 clicks to achieve the same result. Channel groups are really useful in Plex, perhaps if they were as well implemented in Emby then the channel numbers would not be required?

These two areas are the only matters preventing me from moving over to Emby and buying a Premiere licence. Is it possible there will be some improvements in this area soon?

Hello plexile,

** This is an auto reply **

Please wait for someone from staff support or our members to reply to you.

It's recommended to provide more info, as it explain in this thread:

Thank you.

Emby Team