Why is Apple TV converting, transcoding and deinterlacing Live TV?

rdhardi
Go to solution Solved by rdhardi,

rdhardi

Hi! A bit of background. I've been out of the IT field professionally for about 10yrs now. We've had Emby since my husband first installed it years ago back in the Media Browser days. I've recently taken over Emby Server admin duties. I only mention this to show that I'm not a noob when it comes to sys admin or Emby. I AM a noob in multimedia though, as it was never a part of my IT duties. I've been trying to educate myself on multimedia terminology, and I have a basic understanding of what's what, but mostly it's all over my head!

I have, what I hope, is an easy question. When I'm playing the same Live TV channel on a Shield Pro and on an Apple TV HD, the Shield plays direct, but the ATV is converting, transcoding and deinterlacing. Why?

Can someone please explain? Please be gentle and use simple words, lol. I've downloaded the embyserver & ffmpeg logs from when the ATV is running. They're not fully anonymized so I don't feel comfortable attaching them here. If necessary I can PM them, please let me know. Thanks in advance for any replies!

emby.png.225f46c5a4194b161dbc91d8f6289da6.png

rdhardi

Thanks for the link @horstepipe. I've spent many many hours reading posts about transcoding/interlacing, etc. but I don't remember that post. I'll take a look at it later and see if I get a better understanding.

Edited by rdhardi
Add member tag

In the app settings did you change the preferred video player option? If you did, try setting it back to auto.

rdhardi

@Luke Yes, I changed it to Native. Just changed it back to Auto and no there's no change. And the Live TV video quality is so bad it's unwatchable! It's laggy/jerky and the audio & video is out of sync. At times the sound just drops out completely. This must be why I changed it to Native when I first set it up a couple of months ago.