Regular PAL DVDs with 720x576 being transcoded as max 480p

NukeFromOrbit

NukeFromOrbit

Hi,

I'm pretty new with Emby but I've been looking into this issue a bit now and thought it would be good to ask for some input. Maybe this is a known issue. I have been searching for previous discussions around this topic but still haven't found good reasons or workarounds. 

I've just recently moved over from Plex to Emby, and I'm happy about that and I'm a Premium subscriber to support Emby (monthly).

Anyway, I was watching Stargate SG-1 and I noticed it was really bad quality. At first I thought that I maybe have just gotten used to Bluray lately, but I had to verify with the source material and there was a significant difference. 

I rip all my DVDs directly to MKV (pass-through, no conversion) to get all audio tracks and subtitles into one file. So the quality is original DVD.

Just as an example of what I'm talking about I'm attaching two images. First one is Emby through Chrome and second is VLC directly on the MKV file.
Both images taken from SG-1 S02 E22 at around 19 seconds into the video and I've brighten them up using levels to make the details a bit easier to see.

image.png.0c93a6ea937362c41614e1dc99c97e7d.pngimage.png.ce1abdba84ac6ba7ef2651181e3cf069.png

Then I noticed that Emby shows 480p 4mbit as max. The video is 720x576.

Stream #0:0: Video: mpeg2video (Main), yuv420p(tv, top first), 720x576 [SAR 64:45 DAR 16:9], Level 8, 25 fps, 25 tbr, 1k tbn (default)

This resolution is very common for PAL DVDs 

I understand that Chrome does not support mpeg2, so the video has to be transcoded to x264. I tried to use Emby Theatre, which is great, especially for a home theatre setup or similar, but I really prefer using a browser when I'm at my computer.  This means that all my DVDs that are of this solution will be bad quality streaming through Chrome.