Direct Play Buffer Size/auto transcode stream size

EmbyOak

EmbyOak

Hello,

I'm new to Emby (I've been running Plex for roughly 10 years).  I have a buffer issue when playing direct.  I have more than 100mb/s of Internet available (my server is in a data centre with my ISP and I'm using DSL so "directly" connected, no Internet traffic to impact) but for some reason even 5-8mb/s streams "pause".  If I actually pause the show for a few seconds, more more "pausing" occurs (I can see the server is still pushing content).  So this comes down to a buffer size.  I am not seeing anything in the forums that allows for changing of the buffer size. If this exists, would someone please share.

When attempting to use Auto-Transcode mode (I'm using an ATV 4k v1), even with 100mb/s available to me, Emby wants to always select 3mb/s.  Is there a default setting for this?  How does it select the speed?  Is there a way to be more aggressive to try faster bit rates?

I do not have an accelerator card but am the only streamer on a dedicated server with dual Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz processors with 6 cores (12 threads) each with 32GB of RAM.  Thread count is set to "Auto".  I'm using 16GB of RAM for transcoding cache. H264 is set to auto.HDR tone mapping is disabled.  I do allow subtitle extraction on the fly.

Thank you!

RanmaCanada

Someone has broken something seriously bad in the recent editions of the server software.  It's hardcore throttling like crazy on certain devices, even if those devices can direct play it and have the correct bandwidth.  I did some testing myself over the weekend, and it was odd where Emby would play a 30mbit video perfectly fine one playthrough with no buffering, and then throttle the exact same video to 2mbit on the next play through.

49 minutes ago, EmbyOak said:

Hello,