Bash Script for Active Sessions / Currently Logged in Users

AcidRainX

AcidRainX

Hi!

I'm new in Emby, and I'm absoluetly beginner in bash...
But, maybe someone can help me, o better, some has a example for bash (curl?) for this:

I am trying to make a bash script for getting active users (currently logged in / last activity within last 20 minutes) from Emby?
It's for a script for Unraid, for helping not going to standby if a user is logged / had an activity wihtin the last 20 (or variable) minutes.
Would be nice, if this is working / authenticating in Emby an api key...

@chef

best regards

You probably want to access two different end point.

"/sessions" will give you all the current session data, such as users, clients, now playing, etc.

The other ebdpoint you want to access is the "/users" endpoint 

This will give you user data. 

When you access sessions you will get limited user data for that session.

But you can extended the data, by getting the "userId" from sessions, and then requesting "/users/{userId}".

That should return last active date etc.

You'll need an API key if you are not building a client object.

You can create an API key in the dashboard, and use "&api_key=" (or something similar to that).

Edited by chef
  • Like 1

I should also mention that just requesting "/users" will return all the user data.

You could then iterate the json and find the user by name.

• 9 months later...
requa3r0

@AcidRainX

I am trying to do the exact same thing.

But I have no idea how the API works.

Did you solve it, and Can you post a snippet of code that pull the information if a user is logged in on the server.

Thanks.

Edited by requa3r0

requa3r0

Hi @Luke Thanks for trying to point me in the right direction - but its not really helpful. I have been down that road an given up completely.

The API makes no sense to me

NB: If I go to the API from dashboard i am redirected to  https://swagger.emby.media/  with this error

Failed to load API definition.