DSM6, DSM7, Docker. Which server to use?

Sandgorgon
Go to solution Solved by Sandgorgon,

• Solution
Sandgorgon

I have been using Emby on DSM6 (DS920+) for several years and it's been great. I'm looking to upgrade to DSM7, which will necessitate migrating Emby. I recently noticed there is a Docker image for Emby. I'm not overly familiar with Docker, but thought I might as well consider using this version instead of Emby if I'm going to be updating the server anyway.

Is there a performance or any other difference between the DSM7 and Docker versions of the server?

What are the considerations I should be aware of ?

Again, it's a standard DS920+ box.

Apologies if I've missed any key information or this has been covered elsewhere

Thanks 

Hi, there isn't a performance difference that I'm aware of although the native Synology package is more tailored for the platform, so there is that to consider.

I was curious about this as well and using the .17 version tested both on my 920+ configured with 8GB RAM and no read/write cache.  I only did a few "wide open" tests to see what big differences I'd see.  For example I turned off transcode throttle and forced transcoding so I could see the fps.  I also did some downloads to see what bitrate I could download at.

It's was closer than I thought it would be but still a 3 to 5% difference.  However, when I kicked off a backup on another computer backing up to the Synology the difference were more like 6 to 8% as the latency was higher from Docker which makes sense as it's running in a NAT which is always going to add a bit of latency on it's own. I also setup Pihole running as a docker container and this to had a similar if not worse affect as the backup did.  When Pihole was active it's effecting the docker network.