turpentine 22 Posted 1 hour ago Posted 1 hour ago (edited) Hello friends, i have a onn 4k pro 2026 under android tv, and an old HP N54L under xpenology DSM 6.X with emby server on it, with an old turion processor. i have a gigabit point 2 point internet fiber connection, so i really need no transcoding. so i am making everything in my setup, emby not to have to transcode anything. A classic piece of misleading advertising invites the user to try the standard Android version, with the promise that it also works for Google TV. I thought, "Alright, let's try the Android version—the same one used on phones." It looked promising, but in terms of how it behaves, it’s an absolute disaster on android tv boxes. with android TV version, emby server do not transcode anything. direct play for both video and sound. the DTS passthrough exists and is activated in the settings. the onn 4k detects my tv does not support dts and the onn 4k pro send pcm sound automatically. NO transcanding on server. Exoplayer does everything. everything is working fine and smoothly I installed the android normal version on my onn 4k pro. first of all , it take 3 sec more to login. then i start a dts video. more latency, i detect that the servers start to transcode dts to ac3 384kbps. i said to myself well, maybe it is because i have to activate passthrough. there is no passtrrough in the android version. No passthrough option for dts inside settings, no sign of exoplayer in the stats for nerd either. i had to fall back immediately to android tv only version. android tv version is still better than the android phone version despite it also works for android tv boxes. Is there a way to remove the advertisement for android phone version on android tv app ? have a nice day. Edited 1 hour ago by turpentine
Solution GrimReaper 5201 Posted 57 minutes ago Solution Posted 57 minutes ago 17 minutes ago, turpentine said: Is there a way to remove the advertisement for android phone version on android tv app ? On 10/1/2026 at 7:59 PM, ebr said: It only does it twice. When you first install and then one more time about 45 days later. After that, it won't show again. 1
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now