Remote access

Nuitarius

Nuitarius

Hi Emby,

Sorry for yet another person, whom is a little slow on this remote access thing.

I am no expert, but I do dabble, so I have spent some time now trying to portforward my way into this remote access deal with no luck.

Hopefully someone can give me some pointers?

I have a Synology DS416j NAS. Installed Emby server on it, and everything is working locally to my NVIDIA Shield, mobile and PC. It was easy job

I also made an Emby connect and attached it to my account on the emby server.

I then disabled wifi on my phone, opened the emby app and tried to login via emby connect, which gives me the menu where I can choose my NAS-MEdia or "Add Server".

When choosing NAS-Media it times out. When trying to add new server with public IP grabbed from the Emby dashboard it times out.

I have been into my router to portforward 8096 and 8920, but that does not help (Linksys EA7500). I also went into NAS and tried portforwarding from NAS but that does not work either as it expects a predefined router model or UPnP (which is activated in the router, but Synology says that it can't detect UPnP)

Any help is appreciated. Have not bought the premium package yet, but if the remote access works I will (I hope it works on trial basis, or is this my issue? 😕).

Nuitarius

Thanks.

I have tried it out

Here is copy of my port forwarding

image.png.f33ccf11d7110aabe034b9b36b215c8b.png

Now I testet the port. But I cant as my PC is not the one the ports have been forwarded to.

I tried to change the ports to be forwarded to my pc instead. I testet through the port testing website, but it says that the port is not working.

So it seems the port forwarding is not working. But why I do not know.

Edited by Nuitarius

Nuitarius

Okay. I have a suspicion.