Live TV with Dish Network

iPenguin02

iPenguin02

Has anyone been able to get Live TV plugin to work with Dish Network? 

I'm new to the Live TV setup and I'm paying for Dish Network. So I'm wondering if it's possible. Broken down barney style for a noob like me would be extremely helpful.

I was reading there may be a way with m3u, but where do I get these files for networks on Dish? I'm open to hardware solutions as well.

Thanks in advance.

Sammy

Channels DVR and TVE m3u streams but easier is to switch to CableCARD and HDHomeRun Prme tuners. Who is the CableTV provider in your area?

iPenguin02
2 hours ago, Sammy said:

Channels DVR and TVE m3u streams but easier is to switch to CableCARD and HDHomeRun Prme tuners. Who is the CableTV provider in your area?

Spectrum, but I left them because I hated their service. Im using Dish Network now.

Sammy

Old Legacy Charter or acquired TWC area?

I've been with Charter for 30 years and have had a good experience with them, even better recently. 

Edited by Sammy

The problem with most sat setups is the increased costs and less than 100% reliability.

Generally speaking you need a capture card vs a tuner.  You will need one capture card per tv channel you wish to record or view.  Not only do you need a capture card but you also need a dedicated STB for that capture card.

So if you wanted to be able to watch or record 4 channels you would need four sets of STB/capture boards. A lot of content can usually be recorded right off the main OTA channels such as ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX & CW.  So you might want to research what local channels are available in your area.  If this is possible then with a one time purchase and set on an antenna a tuner such as HDHomeRun Quatro you can watch and record up to 4 channels at a time with no ongoing costs.