livetv direct play forces subtitles

veehexx1

veehexx1

I'm brand new to emby (TV Headend too); bought a month emby premiere subscription at the weekend and got liveTV setup.

I'm using TVHeadend for tuner and Emby with native m3u to TVHe (not via TVHe plugin)

While we've only tested a few channels so far (UK freesat; quest, E4 +1) using the app on an LG webos tv, then i'm getting forced subtitles on E4+1 even though CC menu shows as off/disabled. Quest channel plays fine. However watching E4+1 channel via android (direct play) does not show the subtitles overlay so it appears to be specific to the LG WebOS app and certain channels.

Is there a setting i've missed with this, something not setup correctly with TVHe, or do i need logs to aid more?

SamES

Are they subtitles or closed captions?  There is a difference.

Subtitles can be turned off in the Emby subtitles option menu during playback

Closed-captions need to be turned off via the TV setting menu (under accessibility).   Ironically the menu option here is called subtitles.

Depending on your TV model, this may or may not resolve your issue.

veehexx1

I'm almost sure it's subtitles, not CC.

either way, both are off - the TV menu itself, and via emby playback (arrow down > CC).

interestingly i've also got subtitles appear in the LG emby with my mythtv recorded livetv content (i'm in the process of migrating from myth to emby, emby library is pointing to mythtv recorded TV folder). I'm part way through this file where i started played back on my NVshield2019 (emby app from play store) and that didnt have subtitles.

a bit more testing shows it only affected direct play. While changing transcoding in liveTV appears problematic, doing it on non-livetv content is stable so forcing transcoding on this mythtv file makes the subtitles not appear.

edit: bit more testing with this mythtv file which seems to be identical to the LiveTV issue too:

LG TV, direct Play = subtitles