How to use XBMB3C from outside of network

jasonmcroy

jasonmcroy

Hey guys,

I have looked all through the threads to see if anyone had my exact question and I couldn't find an exact answer. I think what I am trying to do is simple but I am missing something.

Here is the set up: I have Linux Mint installed on my laptop. I have installed XBMC with the plugin via downloaded repo. If I configure XBMB3C with the address of the computer I have MBS on and I am in my house on wifi, it connects just fine, plays great with no issues. The Media Browser server is on my living room HTPC computer running with Windows 8.

If I input my dynamic ip address I have via no-ip I get the "can't connect to server" error. I am very new to Linux and maybe there is a setting I have to create in order to use the dynamic address properly?

I am trying to set it up this way so that I can use my laptop outside of my network and access the server that way. 

I have not created a log yet in case this is something someone else just knows what I am doing wrong. Otherwise I can provide logs. 

By the way, if it matters, I can access MBS via Chrome browser on this same laptop using my dynamic ip address and play videos that way just fine.

-Jason

Vidman

Hey guys,

I have looked all through the threads to see if anyone had my exact question and I couldn't find an exact answer. I think what I am trying to do is simple but I am missing something.

Here is the set up: I have Linux Mint installed on my laptop. I have installed XBMC with the plugin via downloaded repo. If I configure XBMB3C with the address of the computer I have MBS on and I am in my house on wifi, it connects just fine, plays great with no issues. The Media Browser server is on my living room HTPC computer running with Windows 8.