Movies & TV Shows combine into one library

jeff729

jeff729

Emby 4.5.4.0 on Qnap 251+    I confess, I'm a NOOB on Emby & Qnap!

1) Please explain the difference between logging into Emby with a user name & password and Emby Connect with a user name & password.    The user names are the same, can the passwords be the same also?

2) I've followed 3 different how to install Emby on a Qnap guides found on the internet.  Everything seems to go well, but creating my libraries.   I first copied all my movies to the Qnap in the movies folder, and did the same with my TV Shows in the Qnap TV Shows folder.  Then installed Emby on the Qnap.   If I create the Movies library first, Emby takes All movies and All TV Shows and puts them combined into the Movies library.   Series TV shows are listed as separate entries as if they're separate movies.    If I delete that library and create a TV Shows library,  Emby again combines both Movies and TV Shows into the TV Shows library but now the series TV shows are only listed once in the library.   I've gone thru this several times with the same result.   I've followed the naming Movie format rules and the naming TV Shows format rules.    Obviously, I'm doing something wrong that someone preceding me has done and discovered the solution to.   Help please! 

If you simply must have my log files, please be specific about which files you need and how to find and access them.   I'm that new to Emby & Qnap!     Thanks! 

Happy2Play

What folder paths are you using when you set up your libraries?  Mixed content will be the only content type that will show them both.

As for logins Connect just offers you the means to not having to know your external address to connect to your server.  Example I have a domain name so I never need to use Connect.

Moving this topic to QNAP section.

jeff729

Folder path for Movies on the Qnap within Emby is:  /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA