Linux OS?

jasonmcroy

jasonmcroy

Hello everyone.

I am thinking about moving over to using the Linux OS on all of my computers at home. I so far have installed Ubuntu and Mint on two different computers to check them out. So far I think I like Mint the best.

I am currently still using Windows on my main HTPC computer that has the Media Browser server on it since that is what is the easiest to set everything up. 

I wanted some feedback from anyone familiar with using Linux as to what is your favorite Linux OS or which one would you recommend using the Media Browser server on? 

I am waiting for an easier method of installing the server on a Linux system before moving over to that environment on my HTPC since I am very new to this and it looks like the current method of setting it up is a little more than I can handle at the moment. I am sure if I read up more on it and played around with it I could figure it out, but easier is always better! 

I am also going to be in need of Live TV on the Linux machine and I am not sure what options exist for that right now. 

Any feedback from you guys would be awesome!

-Jason

I prefer ubuntu. So many use it So its easy to get support. Installing mb3 server is super easy. Tvheadend is my tvserver of choice. And I guess you will be using Kodi as client. When using ubuntu its easy to stay up to date with latest and greatest kodi and tvheadend since the devs have ppa repo. That is if You like bleeding edge.

jasonmcroy

Thanks for your input.

I am doing some research on installing programs that aren't already listed in the software downloads section. It looks complicated to me atm. I am sure it will be easy once I understand it better.

-Jason

thefirstofthe300