Current Roku App Features

farside847

farside847

I am new to the MB platform, and am curious if it will fit my needs before I go through with the installation. I am sorry if this information is posted elsewhere and this seems to be a basic post. But after reading the forum and doing a few google searches I thought I would ask.

I have a HDHomeRun Prime with cable card (HDHR3-CC) and a i7 server with Win7 and WMC that I use as a media server to stream content to my Roku 3's. I am interested in using this server/app solution to handle my movies, live TV, and DVR functions.

From my reading I am pretty sure this app will handle the following easily:

• Stream my movies without transcoding - (already in compatible format)
  • Auto-create pretty Metedata, images, descriptions, etc for movies and recorded shows
  • Stream live TV from my HDHR through my PC to my roku in HD
  • Mark shows for recording, and stream these recordings later in HD

I am not sure if the following is supported (or on its way):

• Pausing live TV, and resume 5, 10, or 20 minutes later
  • Display all available live TV channels in a grid to help you select what to watch (wife happiness requirement)
  • Create and Manage a "season pass". For example, set it up to record all first run Big Bang episodes
  • Screenshot display during FF and RW - Currently I have BIF files to provide this information.

Thanks in advance for any wisdom you can share with me!

farside847

I went ahead and took the plunge, and installed the latest beta server and beta roku app. Here are my results:

Positive:

•  - Stream my movies without transcoding - (already in compatible format)
  •  - Auto-create pretty Metedata, images, descriptions, etc for movies and recorded shows
  •  - Stream live TV from my HDHR through my PC to my roku in HD.
  •  
  • Negative