LGOLED65E7V app won’t playback 7.1 atmos to AV receiver

Pgjscottie

Pgjscottie

Hi i am new to emby downloaded the server to my Netgear nas signed into emby on LGOLED65E7V smart tv all very nice untill it cam to playback it is only playing back 5.1 it recognises the movie is 4k with 7.1 but will not play it the TV is connected to the AV receiver by HDMI arc cable any ideas please

Pgjscottie

Hi i find your solution very unhelpful i have looked through the section that you pointed me to but can not see anything there where someone has mention 

issues with 7.1 passthrough issues if its not a simple not possible would have been more informative

iI have been using Plex for years as PMP is not being updated anymore was looking for a replacement for my home cinema movie collection playback

As your TV app doesn’t seem able to achieve a 7.1 or full atmos sound track Emby will be of no use to me i did try installing a server on my htpc which is connected to my AV receiver and playing it that way but it only passed stereo and 4k movies froze this is all on a hard wired network 

It will be interesting to see if anyone can shine a light on this for me before the month long subsription runs out perhaps Kodi would do a better job?

Hi, Luke was raising this to my attention to to give you some assistance, but you got in before me.

As you have identified, it is not possible to play (or pass-through) TrueHD from the TV to an ATMOS receiver.  To provide more clarity, this is not directly a limitation of Emby, or something we can resolve.

TV's use the Audio Return Channel (ARC) of your HDMI port to send audio from the TV to the receiver.  Unfortunately the ARC has limited bandwidth and cannot handle the high bitrates of lossless audio such as TrueHD/ATMOS.