Creating and using Emby Connect

Folks:

I am new to all of this so forgive me if my questions are elementary. My system is running perfectly and I want to take the next step--accessing the Emby server from locations other than home and want family to be able to access the server. I worry about forging ahead and screwing something up with the present system so I want to make sure I understand as best I can. 

I have Emby premiere server on my PC, and the Emby Android TV on my Nvidia Shield (connected to the PC by ethernet cable). Works perfectly. I want to be able to access the Emby server on my mobile phone app (Samsung) at locations other than home. In reviewing the Emby Connect instructions, do I create a new username, password and email address to accomplish that or do I use the existing Emby Premiere credentials? As well, do I create a "new user". 

Also I want a family member to be able to remotely access the Emby server. In this case, I am fairly confident that new username, password and email address are required. And a new user has to be created. Correct?

All help is appreciated. Thanks.

Superbobtv

@@cayars

Here is a nutshell version of ONE WAY to do it:

1) Setup a user on your system for each person to have access.  You can create the name anyway you want (ie first name) to it's meaningful to you.

2) Have each person create an Emby Connect account and let you know what the Emby Connect username is or the email address.  This is done via the Emby Website here: https://emby.media/connect.html

3) Associate the Emby Connect username or email address with the User you created on your Emby Server.

4) User Signs in using emby.media website

Here is a knowledge base article covering this in more detail: https://support.emby.media/support/solutions/articles/44001160340-emby-connect

Let us know if this helps you out or if you need additional help or instructions.

Carlo

Thank you Carlo for your response.