24/96 flac music files

Acemt

Hello,

I am new to Emby. Plex user but having issues with Hi-res audio files on Plex for LG TV. All my 24/96 .flac music files return an error code.

I am considering switching to Emby but heard that Direct play of Hi-res audio was not available on Emby. I can't seem to find any answers to this elsewhere. I do NOT want to transcode these files, I want them to play Analog from my server to my Yamaha receiver. Currently, the only app I can find that does this properly is Audirvana on my Mac mini and Kodi.

Thanks in advance. Here's hoping it works.

Mark

Hi Luke. I am getting an h4 error code on plex and they will not play on the LG. Everything plays fine on Mac OS, just not via the TV server. Hence I was wondering if Emby will play these files directly without down-sampling them.

Thanks,

Mark

Looking at the code our LG app will definitely try to direct play them, but you may end up getting an error as well. It all comes down to what the device supports. All apps built for LG use the LG audio and video players. If the device doesn't support it there's nothing that any individual app can do to change that. So that's when transcoding comes into play to allow it to work.

Thanks for the reply Luke. That's a shame that LG may be the restricting item. May have to continue to use the Mac mini to play my hi-res stuff.

Mark

Update:  Just wanted to let you know that the music does play on Emby with no error code. Unfortunately it is be down-sampled as the  receiver shows PCM, instead of Analog. Just wanted to let you know.

It's too bad that this is a restriction as I had hoped to remove the mac-mini from my setup as it runs 24/7. It seems that until LG gets their audio player fixed, I am somewhat limited with my huge selection of Hi-res audio files. I know a some people comment that they hear no difference, but when played through the Mcintosh, there is a definite difference in quality between the two.