Jump to content


Photo

recurrent problem with LG smart TV


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 bobus67 OFFLINE  

bobus67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 11 November 2019 - 05:23 AM

Hello,

 

Often I have a problem with the TV being unable to playback video from Emby server. The TV model is 49LK6100

 

Yesterday for example I started watching a series episode, and at some point paused it and exited the DLNA environment for about 30min. When I tried to resume, I got a message that the file was not recognizable. Note that other episode files that I had not up to that point opened, played back fine. Only the ones I had already opened refused to playback Later I moved the folder out and brought it back in, and then it complained that "your device is disconnected", for all episode files. That's where things stand right now.

 

I have tried:

  1. re-scanning the library
  2. restarting the TV
  3. restarting the Emby server
  4. restarting both
  5. renaming all 8 episode files
  6. stopping Emby and removing the cache folder contents
  7. stopping Emby and removing the metadata folder contents
  8. refreshing all metadata using the Emby webGUI

 

Other folders with other series open fine.

 

The only next step I can think of is remove/reinstall Emby. But it will happen again at some point, I have no doubt. It seems to not be very dependable. One out of three times I try to play back via DLNA I get a problem like this; it's very annoying and disruptive.

 

Thanks for any help,

George


Edited by bobus67, 11 November 2019 - 05:23 AM.


#2 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 142429 posts
  • Local time: 10:31 PM

Posted 11 November 2019 - 01:25 PM

Hi, have you tried our lg app?

#3 bobus67 OFFLINE  

bobus67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 12 November 2019 - 02:33 PM

I'm trying it now, thanks.



#4 bobus67 OFFLINE  

bobus67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 24 November 2019 - 10:17 AM

The Emby client works well, a lot better than the plain LG client. I have only seen one bug:

 

When the media file contains "ASS" subtitles, the playback crashes after about 5sec of playback. I have seen this  happen on a MKV file, with dual audio streams, that had built-in subs (I guess these are the ASS subs). When I downloaded external SRT subs, it played back with no problem.



#5 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 142429 posts
  • Local time: 10:31 PM

Posted 24 November 2019 - 11:50 AM

Thank the the feedback. We are looking into that.

#6 Progressor OFFLINE  

Progressor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 24 November 2019 - 04:37 PM

The Emby client works well, a lot better than the plain LG client. I have only seen one bug:

 

When the media file contains "ASS" subtitles, the playback crashes after about 5sec of playback. I have seen this  happen on a MKV file, with dual audio streams, that had built-in subs (I guess these are the ASS subs). When I downloaded external SRT subs, it played back with no problem.

Yes, it crashes for me too on embedded ASS subtitles.



#7 bobus67 OFFLINE  

bobus67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 27 November 2019 - 03:53 PM

Is it possible to configure the client so that by default subtitles are on? Right now I have to enable them every time.

 

If it's not possible, perhaps you can keep it in mind as a  future feature.



#8 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 142429 posts
  • Local time: 10:31 PM

Posted 27 November 2019 - 04:42 PM

Is it possible to configure the client so that by default subtitles are on? Right now I have to enable them every time.

 

If it's not possible, perhaps you can keep it in mind as a  future feature.

 

Hi there @bobus67, have you checked out your emby user subtitle preferences?



#9 bobus67 OFFLINE  

bobus67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time: 05:31 AM

Posted 28 November 2019 - 04:33 PM

Actually I had not noticed the option to change all these settings. I looked for it now, found it, all is good!



#10 Luke OFFLINE  

Luke

    System Architect

  • Administrators
  • 142429 posts
  • Local time: 10:31 PM

Posted 28 November 2019 - 06:12 PM

Thanks for the feedback.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users