Emby Server in bound firewall rules

PoBear

PoBear

Before I re-instaled Emby I deleted all of the firewall rules, I've just checked and the new install has added rules to allow inbound connections on any port.

I'll admit I'm not a firewall expert but why has this been done when I selected no remote access during the install?

Thanks

rbjtech

For Windows,  the rule is for 'embyserver.exe' - it is not a port rule but a Private Service rule.  Now you could limit it further by selecting the standard Emby ports as well rather than any:any - however, as only 'embyserver.exe' can use this rule, then I feel this is an unnecessary restriction.  As a consequence you break Emby should you ever change your Emby port and don't update the modified firewall rule... 

To also note, the Windows firewall is of course your 2nd 'inner' firewall anyway - your main DMZ firewall is the main 'port' defence.

But it's an interesting topic tbh - I checked originally and I was happy with a service based rule.

ps - You still need a firewall rule for local access regardless of your Remote settings.  ;)

Edited by rbjtech

PoBear

Sorry. should have been more detailed in my original description.

I understand why connections on my PRIVATE network are required, I don't understand why an inbound rule for a PUBLIC network is required.

Thanks

Edited by PoBear

rbjtech

It's possible that the network on your PC is actually 'Public' (the default, depending on how you answered the Windows 10 setup questions..) - in which case, you probably want to change that ASAP to 'Private'..

Have a look here on how and why ..

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/6815-set-network-location-private-public-windows-10-a.html

• Like 1

Happy2Play

You should have receive a pop up Window to apply Private and Public restrictions.  So if your server is mobile and you connect to a Public network your settings will be honored.

5cabec27e4f97_rule.jpg