Best server and client hardware for 4K HDR

rafaeldelrey

rafaeldelrey

Hi,

I have been testing Emby Server for a couple of months.  I was a Plex user for years, but its lack of support for 4K started to bother me.  It turns out Emby share the same problems for 4K media.  My current setup:

Server:

Ubuntu 18.04

Intel Core i7 7700k

Nvidia GTX 1080

8Gb Ram

Available clients:

- Apple TV 4K;

- Fire Cube TV;

- Samsung Q6F 82";

- Xbox One X (never tested emby here);

- Chrome Browser in a 4K display notebook;

- Sonos Beam (which doesnt play a lot of sound formats, but it seems this is not a issue with my movies);

Wired ethernet;

Media stored in a NFS shared drive in a Synology DS;

There is not a single 4K files who plays flawlessly with Emby.  Sometimes, I can play certain movies, if I use the Samsung TV, select no subtitles, 5.1 soundtrack, and it has a lower bitrate.  In these situations, the movie is direct played on TV.  This is not always possible, because the Samsung Emby App has a bug in selecting soundtrack.  

All the movies plays smoothly with VLC in my notebook, accessing the very same network media, connected through wifi, so I believe there is no issue with network or the NAS;

I ve read the Nvidia Shield could play any 4K movies, but has problems with HDR.  I understand this could be a solution, maybe even an HTPC, but this make all the Emby/Plex "play anywhere" proposal useless.

Should I give up using 4K currently on Emby, or there is any combination of server/client who works with 4K HDR media?

vaise

I replaced my main Lounge Room Roku with an Nvidea ShieldTV for better 4K.

Does a lad of other stuff too (free games etc for the kids).

Roku;s in all other rooms but they dont have 4K TV's.

I maintain a separate emby library for the 4K content.

Does Nvidia Shield Handles 4K HDR content?

Depending on the format of the media, sometimes the emby app won't recognise it as being HDR - normally if it's been cropped.