Emby Server - Premiere needs to be online?

CVXDEV

CVXDEV

Hi all,

I have a few questions related to Emby Server / Emby Premiere functionalties and if there is a requirement of being online (constantly)?
In my set-up, ideally the server is not (constantly) online - I have a Emby Premiere monthly subscription.
I understand that for the initial registration/code verification the Server needs to be online and then after each month to check the renewal.

• how often does the server check that the premiere subscription is valid? How often does the server need to be online?
  • does it still check/verify the code if i have a lifetime subscription?
  • to use the emby-app on my iPhone, does the server need to be online? Today i stumbled on this, I wanted to stream a movie within my local WiFi and when hitting the play button, it tells me that I need to unlock the functionality? I tested it on the Android app, and there is no request for feature unlock
  • I streamed the movie via the normal browser = no problem (which is understandable if no premiere functions are needed). Only "flaw" I found due to testing, for example if i would play a 4k movie the server dashboard would tell me that it direct streams, even though the device does not support 4K (and the phone doesn't play anything obviously or loads forever). I understand that transcoding is a Premiere function - but is permanent internet connection needed?

I would like to understand the set-up/process of Emby Premiere and the need of having an Internet connection.

Thanks in advance for your help.

PS: I run my emby server on Ubuntu via a LAN-Network with WAP

Edited by CVXDEV

mastrmind11

The server will phone home once every couple of weeks to verify your premiere status.

• 2 weeks later...
CVXDEV

Thanks for your feedback mastrmind11 - can you or the admins define a bit more what "every couple of weeks" means? And if it's still the case for the lifetime subscription?