Which server/NAS combination should I use?

jonboyuk

jonboyuk

Hi all,

I'm sure this has been asked before but with different variables, so apologies in advance. I'm new to the NAS/Emby scene. For Christmas I was given a Raspberry Pi 3b+, and I thought I'd plug an old HDD into it and see what a file server would be like for movies. I love it. Emby is brilliant and now I want more....

I guess I'm trying to work out which is best for hosting the Emby server (which might have an impact on the NAS I buy)...

1. Do I just get a Synology DS218 with its media-centric transcoding features and use that as the Emby server too?
  2. Or do I get a DS218j purely as a more basic NAS (other suggestions welcome) and use one of my existing machines below as the Emby server? I have:
  • A Raspberry Pi 3b+ (my low powered Christmas pressy - always on);
  • An Nvidia Shield (also always on);
  • A PC - Intel i7-7820X CPU/32GB RAM/GTX 1080Ti (beastly but far from low power and only on when I'm using it - but would nail transcoding).

I guess I don't want to spend money where it's not necessary so any input would be very welcome.

Thanks all

J

jonboyuk

I've read (on here) that it can be better to keep the NAS and server separate - although I can't imagine why... In the interest of saving money however, would the NVidia Shield act as a better server, or at least sufficiently over that of say the Synology DS218? I realise this isn't Intel, but it can do 4K @ 60fps. The DS218+ (which is Intel) can only achieve 4K @ 30fps. I'm happy to have two devices running - as I said the Shield is always on anyway so...

Thanks for your advice :)

jonboyuk

Thanks Luke. I guess I haven't because I'm trying to decipher whether to buy the more expensive Synology NAS with 4k transcoding or not.

In order of best to worst server, how would you organise the 4? My PC, the Pi, the Shield, the Synology DS218.

I don't do much 4k stuff, but would like to future proof I guess.