UHD HDR Question

TylerV76

TylerV76

First off Im extremely new to the UHD scene so bear with me if im missing something simple. Can someone look at these 2 files and help me figure out why one triggers HDR on my TV and the other doesn't? Im not seeing any differences here. 

This is on an Nvidia Shield and the HDMI display mode is set to YUV 420 10Bit Rec. 2020

HDR Triggered:

5c4777f493b2b_ScreenShot20190122at30217P

HDR Not Triggered:

5c477818e4aa5_ScreenShot20190122at30243P

Jdiesel

The second video has been cropped to remove the black bars above and below the video, (3840x1600 instead of 3840x2160). Emby on the Shield TV currently has an issue enabling HDR with these cropped videos. Current solution is to re-rip/re-download an uncropped version...

Edited by Jdiesel
  • Like 1

TylerV76

The second video has been cropped to remove the black bars above and below the video, (3840x1600 instead of 3840x2160). Emby on the Shield TV currently has an issue enabling HDR with these cropped videos. Current solution is to re-rip/re-download an uncropped version...

Thank you. I just came back into this thread to edit it and say I found the other thread explaining this. 

CBers

As per the other thread(s), it appears to be an issue with the Emby ATV app, as the Plex ATV app works.

You can use an externally with the Emby ATV app, such as MX Player, or the Archos Player.

We're stuck with this until either Google fix exoplayer, or Emby provides some sort of work around.

TylerV76

Or just use any other Android TV device. Everything else other than shield works just fine.

I looked at grabbing a Mi Box but apparently it doesn't passthrough Dolby Atmos. 

Im fine getting another box but I don't know of another one that allows direct play of everything and allows Dolby Atmos. Doesn't even have to be Android. Im looking to see if Roku could possibly handle all of this. 

Edit: appears Roku cannot passthrough Lossless Truehd so that won't be an option. 

Edited by TylerV76