Importing iTunes Playlists

GreyBat
Go to solution Solved by GreyBat,

Hi. I'm new to Emby, currently trying to evaluate it in contrast to (the evil and over-complicated!) Plex. I have a problem with the "philosophy" behind the importing of music playlists, notably from iTunes, where all my music library is managed.

I dutifully exported into m3u format all the playlists that I wanted to bring into Emby, and stored them in my music/playlists folder. Emby found them and tried to import them. Unfortunately, it failed completely to import anything from several classical music playlists, and then I also found many entries in contemporary music playlists were also missing. A little further investigation revealed what I think the problem is.....

It appears that Emby tries to validate each #EXTINF entry against an external database (e.g. Musicbrainz) and, if it doesn't find it, it drops the entry completely. An example of this would be the album Raising Sand, by Alison Krauss and Richard Plant. In my library, the tracks in this album are tagged with Artist and Album Artist as "Alison Krauss & Richard Plant". However, in Musicbrainz (and Discogs) the artists are identified as "Richard Plant & Alison Krauss". When Emby imported the playlists containing this album, all tracks of the album were dropped. When I re-tagged the album (in Tagscanner), and re-imported the playlist, they were accepted.

For my classical collection, I have chosen to separate concertos and symphonies (actually, anything with multiple movements, creating a single work) into separate albums, so that I can use "shuffle by album" to keep works together. I also have tagged the classical track titles my own way. Since neither the album names nor titles exist on MusicBrainz, none of the entries in the m3u files were imported.