Can't Switch Audio Track on TRUEHD 7.1 Files

tietherope
Go to solution Solved by ebr,

tietherope

Hi All, 

Just set up Emby on my Shield and DS918+ this past weekend. 

I have several files with TRUEHD 7.1 as the main audio track, but also have Dolby Digital 5.1 and some commentary tracks.

The movies will not play because my audio is used through ARC and I understand that will not work, which is fine. However, it does not let me switch to a different audio track. Maybe because the movie never starts playing?

I can however go into setting and turn on "Downmix to stereo" and then the film will play. From there I can switch between tracks and if I leave it on Dolby Digital 5.1, I can then go turn off the downmix to stereo and then come back to the movie and switch through tracks as well. However if I pick TRUEHD again, then the movie stops playing and I can't switch audio tracks again. 

I have attached what I hope is the proper section of the server log. If not, it's my first time with that, so please let me know and I'll get a better one. 

Hopefully I didn't miss a very obvious place which says this is normal.

Thanks for any help or insight you can give. 

Server Log.txt

Edited by tietherope

tietherope

Hey, thanks for the response. The log is attached. 

It should show me starting on Dolby Digital 5.1, switching to TRUE HD 7.1 and then trying to switch back to DD, but the change not taking effect.

Let me know if I'm missing anything. 

FFMPEG Log.txt

• Solution

Hi.  The reason the item is not starting is due to the PGS subs being selected.  When we have to transcode due to the audio then those subs have to be burned in, which your server is just not powerful enough to do.

If you obtain external text subs for this item, then this problem should go away.

tietherope

Thank you so much! Turned subtitles off and it works.