Gnome3 and Emby on FreeBSD

T_Tronix

T_Tronix

I'm new to FreeBSD (prev Win10 user), had Gnome3 installed but when I installed Emby I noticed Gnome3 stopped working because the Emby installation was removing it and vise versa...Is this normal?

T_Tronix

Well when I typed this:

sudo pkg install mono libass fontconfig freetype2 fribidi gnutls iconv opus samba48 sqlite3 libtheora libva libvorbis webp libx264 libzvbi

I saw that before I confirmed it with a "Y" that it mentioned it will remove a bunch of things (most seemed gnome related).

Can you provide the full console output?

My guess is that the installations are updating a library to a new version that gnome3 does not support, and that's why this happens.

T_Tronix

Installed packages to be REMOVED:
    samba46-4.6.15
    gdm-3.16.4_3
    gnome-control-center-3.18.2_8
    gnome-shell-3.18.5_9
    gnome3-3.18.0_1
    gnome-terminal-3.24.2_1
    nautilus-3.18.5
    totem-3.18.1_3
    gnome-documents-3.24.2
    gnome-utils-3.18.0,1
    evince-3.26.0
    gvfs-1.26.3_9
    brasero-3.12.2
    file-roller-3.26.1,1
    ldb-1.1.29_1
    sushi-3.18.0_1
    gnome-shell-extensions-3.18.4

New packages to be INSTALLED:
    samba48: 4.8.2
    ldb13: 1.3.3

Number of packages to be removed: 17
Number of packages to be installed: 2

The operation will free 26 MiB.

Ok unfortunately I don't know the answer but in all likelihood this means that gnome3 and emby both share a dependency that they need to be installed on the system. Emby is probably asking for a higher version than gnome3 supports, and this ends up causing the problem with gnome3.

Of course I could be wrong, but if I am right, that means you need to either convince us to support an older version of whatever library that is, convince gnone3 to support the newer version, or choose between having one or the other installed. In linux they call this dependency hell.

Is there a way to find out what packages gnome3 depends on?

T_Tronix