Any way to force transcoding of live TV?

anakinjay

anakinjay

I'm new to emby so sorry if this is a noob question but I couldn't find an answer searching the forums or googling.

Is there any way to force transcoding for live tv?  I like to listen to news on my drive home from work, and right now the IPTV stream is using direct play trying to give me a 1080p stream which stutters and buffers over my cellular connection.

I've tried changing the quality setting with the gear icon, and it has no effect.  It DOES effect videos, but not live IPTV.

Any idea where I should be looking or what I'm doing wrong?  Thanks guys!

anakinjay

FYI this may be IOS app related... I tried just logging in via the web browser on my phone and it transcodes just like I'd expect...  but when trying to view iptv through the emby app, it forces direct play.

mastrmind11

FYI this may be IOS app related... I tried just logging in via the web browser on my phone and it transcodes just like I'd expect...  but when trying to view iptv through the emby app, it forces direct play.

It'll transcode in your browser because your browser doesn't likely support the container or audio/video format of the tv stream.  To force a transcode on your device, tweak the max bitrate setting in the app to something lower than what's being streamed.  

Out of curiosity, if your phone is capable of direct playing the stream, why would you *want* it to transcode?

• Like 1

To force a transcode on your device, tweak the max bitrate setting in the app to something lower than what's being streamed.  

This is correct. You may have changed the quality, but the quality may still be high enough to direct play.

anakinjay

Out of curiosity, if your phone is capable of direct playing the stream, why would you *want* it to transcode?

Because the cellular connection on my phone isn’t capable of streaming 720p 10Mbs / sec. that quality is way overkill for a 4 inch screen anyway.

anakinjay