Blurays of TV series

superloopy

superloopy

I'm a MB novice so here's a noob question. I've got bluray boxset of Dexter Season1. What are my options here in setting this up in MB? I can obviously rip it to a full bluray folder but would i be able to 'see' the episode content via MB? Or do i need to rip each episode out although doing it that way loses the disc menus and extras. I'm confused! Whats the best way to handle these boxsets and extract the most info from them. I'd prefer to retain bkuray format if possible and not have to convert them.

Edited by superloopy

gcw07

I personally rip them to individual episodes. No conversions or anything so they are still full quality, but split it out to episode 1, 2, 3, etc. Works better then ripping a whole disc. Especially if you wish to play them back on other devices such as phones, tablets, etc. 

superloopy

Thanks for quick reply. How do you rip each individual episode? What format do you use and what packages?

JayAre

You can rename the bluray folders to MB3 multi-episode naming structure.  If you use MPC-HC, it will play the multi-episode bluray folder continuously.  There are some bluray TV series that will only play one episode in the bluray disc folder with MPC-HC.  To play all the episodes or if you prefer bluray menus, you can tag them as 3d to force playback in TMT5 as workaround.  I'm assuming you are using MBC and TMT5 configured as the default 3d player in the MBC configurator.

http://mediabrowser.tv/community/index.php?/topic/926-roc-theme-support/?p=78307

Edited by JayAre

gcw07

Jay's method will work if your only playback method is from a PC. If you plan to ever play them back on a phone, tablet, smart tv, dlna device, roku, etc., then I definitely would recommend individual episodes.

As for how. I use MakeMKV for it. It will give you a list of individual videos on each disc and allow you to make a mkv of each file.

JayAre