Shuffled (random) photo slideshows with simple options

MC Newby

MC Newby

Hello,

I’m new to this stuff of watching one’s content on the TV. I have a collection of well organised and rated 50k photos. I can make copies of them available through DLNA and through Emby to my TV. But my native LG photo slideshow, Emby LG app, Emby Android TV cast and no other solutions provide me with a way to watch slideshows of my photos displayed in the random order. I do not want fancy transitions, direct access to metadata (rating is correctly displayed as Community rating already) just a simple play and forget. In the order of importance:

– shuffle (available in Emby Android app, but doesn’t work as photos not cast to connected LG TV)

– freely adjustable pace in seconds (lower than 5, too!)

– filtering by rating: =, <, >, possibly also ≤ and ≥ (I could work around it by using folders, but since the rating is already read…)

– filtering by more metadata (year, locations etc.)

Am I correct that the above is not available currently through Emby? TBH, I have also looked at other solutions and BubbleUPnP comes closest, but not fully. Everybody seems obsessed at offering gazyliard of transitions, but not the simplest of functionality…

Thank you very much for a great product!

Regards

m.

– shuffle (available in Emby Android app, but doesn’t work as photos not cast to connected LG TV)

Hi, can you describe exactly what you mean by this? You should be seeing shuffle buttons when browsing photo libraries. As far as the filtering goes, yes we can look at exposing those filters. Thanks.

MC Newby

Hi, Luke, thanks for having a look!

So in my Emby LG app (LG49UJ635V, Emby 1.7), there is no shuffle in the Library set to Home Videos and Photos (that’s where it would be most useful, along with being able to set the pace in seconds).