Steam Box/HTPC

LiquidFX

LiquidFX

Ok so I currently has an AMD Radeon HD 5500 Series, Intel® Core2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz  ~3.2GHz, and 4 GB DDR2. Im just getting into PC gaming so Im going to be upgrading some of the internals, keeping under a budget of around $600 for upgrades. The needed parts will include CPU, motherboard, ram, and graphics card.

Input on what you recommend is appreciated.

Edited by LiquidFX

LiquidFX

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($184.99)

Motherboard: ASRock H87M Pro4 Micro ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($79.99 @ Micro Center)

Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($77.99 @ Newegg)

Video Card: Zotac GeForce GTX 770 2GB Video Card ($329.99 @ NCIX US)

Total: $672.96

(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

(Generated by PCPartPicker 2014-03-26 16:59 EDT-0400)

Deihmos

I remember when I use to play pc games. It just got too expensive and complicated so now I opt for devices that consume as little power as possible. Why not spend an additional $100 and get the i7? You should check out Newegg and use it with fatwallet for the cash back. What is even there to play on PC anymore?

Edited by Deihmos

christoph86

Any games in mind?  Do you want to play games on highest quality with best frames per second?  If these are important to you then you will need the beefier graphics card.  If not, there are some decent cards in the 150-200 range.

shaefurr

Honestly for PC gaming nowadays, id just stick with an i5 unless you're going all out on all the other components.

I only got maybe a 5-10 FPS boost in games going from an i3 to an overclocked i5. Where as for the price difference of an i3 - i5 - i7 would get you more FPS from using that same cash for a better GPU instead. Most games will bottleneck at your GPU and not the CPU, except in some games with a lot of physx like Planetside 2.