New to emby, using emby on my gaming and working pc

Mytre

Mytre

Hello, I am new to emby , so far set it up nicely. I dont plan on big usage on emby server, just weekend playback on local wifi, about 1080p to a smart tv and 1080p to another pc.  I see people build dedicated machines but I dont have the money or the space to put a desktop to work solely on emby . Would emby affect my performance on games? I have a ryzen 1600x and a 1070 with 16gb of ram. I stay at 1080p on both my monitors and all that. Worst case scenario is 4 people watching 1080p movies from my emby server using the local wifi, I am connected to the 5ghz wifi.

Would my hardware be enough for this type of server? Or should I look to re purpose and old office computer into being an emby server with windows? Another question is if a 5400rpm drive or a sshd (2.5 inch drive with 5400rpm and a small ssd part) be enough for all my media for playback over the emby server?

dcrdev

Hello, I am new to emby , so far set it up nicely. I dont plan on big usage on emby server, just weekend playback on local wifi, about 1080p to a smart tv and 1080p to another pc.  I see people build dedicated machines but I dont have the money or the space to put a desktop to work solely on emby . Would emby affect my performance on games? I have a ryzen 1600x and a 1070 with 16gb of ram. I stay at 1080p on both my monitors and all that. Worst case scenario is 4 people watching 1080p movies from my emby server using the local wifi, I am connected to the 5ghz wifi.

Would my hardware be enough for this type of server? Or should I look to re purpose and old office computer into being an emby server with windows? Another question is if a 5400rpm drive or a sshd (2.5 inch drive with 5400rpm and a small ssd part) be enough for all my media for playback over the emby server?

Should be alright - although I'd always recommend running Emby on a separate machine.