Roku TV vs Roku Box

Erik

Erik

Hi,

I currently have 2 Roku Ultra's attached to TVs. Want to add a new TV for a treadmill and while looking i saw a Roku TV that fit the location, however, i have no experience Roku being built in.

If someone has one, how does the built in Roku TV compare to an additional box? is it like an Ultra in the TV or just a basic streaming stick in regards to performance and any other thoughts?

Thanks,

Erik

Jdiesel

It doesn't list spec on the Roku TV hardware in this wiki and it is possible that it varies between models of TV. If I had to guess though I would say it is closer to a streaming stick than an Ultra. Need to cut cost where ever possible on things like TVs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roku

Erik

Ya, i couldn't find any specs and even Roku's website is vague. I'm thinking, just get a TV and Roku separately so at least i know what I'm getting.

Thanks.

Waldonnis

I picked up a TCL 55" not long ago as a bedroom television and have been pretty happy with it (last year's model, not the newest ones).  The biggest gripe I have is that the remote is a bit of a pain if you use the built-in tuner with an OTA antenna or have cable without a STB, since it doesn't have numbers on it to go to channels directly.  Instead, you have to set up channel favourites...just picture using your Roku remote as a television remote (it does have a mute button, at least).  Thankfully, I do have STBs here (condo, so we have a bulk cable contract) and it's not a big problem for me for now, but given the reliability of our cable, I was hoping to add an antenna to the mix eventually.