Intel Quick Sync

revengineer

revengineer

I am new to hardware encoding and need some help. I have a 2nd generation i3-2100T sandy bridge processor, which is supposed to support Intel Quick Sync. However, when I try to use hardware encoding to .mp4 format for a TV show, I get the error:

[h264_qsv @ 00000066a2c4a220] No device available for encoder (device type qsv for codec h264_qsv).
[h264_qsv @ 00000066a2c4a220] Error initializing the encoder: invalid video parameters (-15)

I am using the Intel Graphics Driver for Windows 8 64 bit on a Windows 2012 64-bit server. This is an older processor and the driver version 15.28.24.64.4229 is from 2015.

The options I see are that either the version of quick sync supported by the processor is too old to support emby or that I am missing something in the install. So if someone has an idea or tutorial to get quick sync to work, I am all ear.

Thank you in advance!

Try turning off quicksync decoding and just using the encoding.

revengineer

@Luke: Using Quick Sync only for encoding does not change anything. I get the same error message.

@Fratopolis: I have verified that my CPU supports Quick Sync. The question is whether I have to install software to make it work. E.g., do I need to install DirectX or Windows Media Foundation (WMF)?

Guest asrequested

Transcoding is all down to ffmpeg. You don't need to install anything else. Post the transcode log.

Guest asrequested

Try again with decoding disabled, and post that log. It's not able to decode, so there's nothing to encode.

[h264_qsv @ 000000bdcc8aa8a0] No device available for decoder (device type qsv for codec h264_qsv).
Stream mapping:
  Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (h264 (h264_qsv) -> h264 (h264_qsv))
  Stream #0:1 -> #0:1 (copy)
Press [q] to stop, [?] for help
[h264_qsv @ 000000bdcc4bab40] No device available for encoder (device type qsv for codec h264_qsv).
[h264_qsv @ 000000bdcc4bab40] Error initializing the encoder: invalid video parameters (-15)