Support for other databases, specifically Postgres.

tombert

tombert

Hello!

I love Emby, but the limitation of SQLite makes it impossible to scale this across multiple nodes.  I think it would be better for anyone if there were an option to use Postgres (or MySQL or Mongo or whatever) so that we could scale it to multiple nodes, as I think this would put less strain the devices when multiple users are streaming and transcoding.

I thought about adding this myself (I'm a software engineer), and I think I could, but from what I'm seeing it looks like it would be a relatively big ripping of the `ManagedConnection` by making it use some kind of `IDatabase` or something. 

I'm not opposed to doing it, but currently the only language I use for work is F#, and while I would be happy to write a Postgres driver in a super-duper-functional style, I don't know that that would be approved upstream, and my OOP experience is a bit out of date. 

-Thomas Gebert.

• Like 4

Hi, yes this is something we've talked about in the past but have never been able to look at it. 

• Like 1

tombert

@@Luke

How receptive would you be to a pull request that does the IDatabase setup that I mentioned before?  I started some preliminary work on that last night; if you are ok with allowing the inclusion of the Postgres .NET driver (and only having it used when an environment variable is supplied), I think I can have something ready by Thursday or Friday.

Edited by tombert

I'm ok with it, although we'd probably isolate postgres support into a plugin rather than integrating into the core.

tombert

I'm not entirely sure how you would use it in a plugin; I want to use Postgres as a configuration database, similar to what SQLite is accomplishing now; aren't plugins installed after the server is already configured? If it's installed after the fact, I do not believe that that would address my scalability-across-many-nodes problems.