DS918+ HardwareTranscoding HEVC?

LoungeSounds

LoungeSounds

Hello,

I am new to Emby and am testing it out against Plex. I have installed the Synology package from the package centre and set hardware transcoding to Intel Quick Sync with all boxes ticked under hardware decoding. I have tested a HEVC encoded movie: "Atlantis 2001 Animation" 1080p with a bitrate of around 4500. When the movie is played the CPU usage jumps to around 90-100%  (The same film in Plex uses around 10%), I have also tried the VA API option as suggested in another post but experience the same performance.

Is there something that I am not doing? I also downloaded the FFMPEG by cytec from the community repository to see if that made a difference but no dice :-(

NAS is a DS918+ : CPU J3455 (Apollo Lake) 4 core : 8GB Memory + 128GB Read SSD Cache

Emby version is: 3.3.1

FFMPEG by cytec was 3.4.1 (Now uninstalled as it made no difference)

I guess I must be doing something wrong as Plex handles my HEVC collection without issue.

Thanks in advance for any help.

LoungeSounds

Sorry I should add that I am playing the movie through Chrome on my PC using the auto quality setting (which sets to 1080p 60 - I thought chrome could only handle 720p!)

LoungeSounds

So after some tinkering, HW transcoding appears to be working using the VA API. CPU usage is around 20-30% (With one stream). Not sure why the Intel Quick sync option is not working as I'm still maxing out the CPU using that option and the log seems to say something like missing device, I'm fairly sure Plex uses Quicksync though for HW transcoding on Apollo lake. 

To get it to its current state I stopped everything and re-installed the cytec FFMPEG package - then I restarted Emby and now hardware transcoding seems to be working after a fashion.

Does anyone know why the quick sync option might not be working - are there additional settings/steps somewhere?

Thanks again.