[RockChip] Asus Tinker Board

UltimateCoder

UltimateCoder

Hey guys,

yesterday I managed to setup emby server at version 3.2.60.0 on my Asus Tinker Board.

I have to say ... this is a pretty dope software actually. This in mind, I tested some things, and it really worked well.

The part I am a little bit upset about, is that although the tinker board has a gigabit NIC, and therefore should easy be able to handle traffic, there is a problem with transcoding. I tested my setup with serval devices. Some of them do not needed any transcoding at all, some needed it though. 

The problem now is, that the Tinker Board actually can perform better than it acutually does now. I have some pretty hard stuttering on some devices that need transcoding. The CPU usage goes up to pretty much 100%. I am a professional software developer myself, and would love to help you guys out, to tweak the shit out of this single board computer, since it is a cheap alternative for acting as a media server.

Could you point me to some settings, that I could try first, to make transcoding more effective on the Tinker Board? Maybe I just have the wrong settings in place.

If changing settings wont help, we maybe can discuss how to archive better performance out of these small boards. I mean since they also have hw acceleration, there might be some percent to gain with some tweaks.

Hi, thanks for the feedback !

I guess the only setting i can think of changing would be hardware acceleration under the Transcoding menu, that is if any hardware acceleration is supported. Thanks.

dcrdev

There's a va-api driver and library availible for rockchip, but it's not bundled with emby.

You could build those from source and have a stab at building ffmpeg against that.

Waldonnis