MB3, my first impressions

BillW

I just wanted to make a few comments about MB3. To sum it up in one word WOW.

I built my first HTPC last autumn, dropped my satellite provider and never looked back. My first interface was WMC with MB2. The setup was OK but I didn’t care much for the look of WMC. The TV section works solidly but I didn’t like the rest with the exception of the MB2 plugin. So I tried a different Media Center app. It looked fantastic but I’m not a programmer and was having quite a bit of difficulty getting everything to work right. It’s a great piece of software if you know what you’re doing, a challenge if you’re just a layman like myself. I can read and follow directions however I couldn’t write a line of code if my life depended on it. A couple of days ago I saw a plugin for the MB server on the other site. I knew how to sort my collection the way I want to present it with MB without trying to figure out playlists, nfo’s or tags.

Yesterday I installed MB server and took a chance on installing MBT. I know it just started Beta testing so I thought it would be filled with bugs. Man was I wrong. Within an hour I had it running with live TV enabled through WMC and the kylo plugin was the solution for all of our streaming needs. I never heard of it before yesterday.

Last night I had a hundred questions on how to set up users, add images and other general customizations. This morning I found the tutorial on the forum. Kudos to whoever put that together. It's a very detailed step by step set of instructions that even an old fossil like myself can follow.