linux noob installing emby server stuck at ffmpeg in quick start wizard

timnop

timnop

I have the ffmpeg files in a folder /home/tim/ffmpeg files

I don't know how to mark them as executables, but when I look at properties it looks like they already are.

The wizard keeps kicking me back. Unable to locate ffmpeg in the path you entered.

Please help. I am a total noob and have been working on this all day.

Thanks.

timnop

I didn't know how to mark the two files as executable. I found the answer with google search. Beginning to study the linux operating guide now. Today was a rough day. But I am learning. My mission is to set up whole home dvr with hdhr prime and amazon fire tv / kodi boxes throughout the house and of course all of our smart devices. My emby server is running on a s905x android box which is running ubuntu on an sd card. Does this sound feasable? Is there a good guide to follow? I don't care too much at this point setting up libraries just whole home tv viewing and dvr.

Thanks

mastrmind11

I didn't know how to mark the two files as executable. I found the answer with google search. Beginning to study the linux operating guide now. Today was a rough day. But I am learning. My mission is to set up whole home dvr with hdhr prime and amazon fire tv / kodi boxes throughout the house and of course all of our smart devices. My emby server is running on a s905x android box which is running ubuntu on an sd card. Does this sound feasable? Is there a good guide to follow? I don't care too much at this point setting up libraries just whole home tv viewing and dvr.

Thanks

What you're trying to do is entirely feasible... you're describing what everyone here is already doing in some form or another.  However, you are going to run into pretty bad performance issues running your server on a box that lightweight.  That thing is more of a streaming client than a server.

tdiguy

Thanks