Channel Performance /w Emby Theater

Bgrigg

Bgrigg

I'm new to Emby, as I got tired of waiting for Plex's DVR to support live TV. I have searched the forums but haven't found anything recent, but it seems like the normal amount of time to load a channel is roughly 10-30 seconds? Is that still accurate? I'm using a Win10 (latest version prior to Creator's Update) AMD A8-7600, 16GB of RAM on SSD, not the best system but plays games decently. And not only is the task of select a channel twice annoying (once to select and then again to play it), but then it takes 10 or so seconds for it to start playing.

Any plans to improve this? Also, being able to channel surf as well, without having to back out twice and then back in to the new channel twice. That's a deal breaker. I was going to try the Kodi add-on, but seems like that Emby doesn't have a PVR add-on for Kodi, and that it's just a library plug-in.

Thinking about Kodi with NextPVR or possibly SiliconDust's DVR beta.

Any suggestions?

Hi, that's not normal. It just depends on what Emby app you're playing from. Can you go over some examples?

Also, yes, we do plan to add in-video channel surfing, and some apps already have that, for example, Android TV.

Bgrigg

My Win10 HTPC (stated running both Emby Server and Emby Theater (Win32 version, although UWP version seems to have same delays)), connected to a HDHomeRun Prime, via gigabit switch. Takes roughly 7-15 seconds for the video to come up after hitting the Play button. I tried my Win7 (Core i7-4810MQ laptop over an Wireless AC network (full 867Mbit signal strength/quality)) running ET too and my Samsung Galaxy S8 and gets same/similar results.