OT: Storage Solution

Bert

I currently run five external Hard drives to hold my libraries.  Two are Seagates which are now acting up already and they are less than a year old or so.  Saw this today, would this allow me to take apart the external drives and throw them in here until I upgrade drives?

http://www.neweggflash.com/product/16-111-168?utm_source=NFEmail020614&utm_medium=index&utm_campaign=SaleBanner_B2L_RAIDEnclosure&cm_mmc=EMC-NFEmail020614-_-SaleBanner_B2L_RAIDEnclosure-_-NA-_-16-111-168

shaefurr

Yes, they're usually just regular sata drives in the external cases, any hard drive enclosure should work

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk

Funny, I was just looking a something similar today HERE

@@Bert, can the enclosure you linked be used for JBOD as well as RAID, or is it limited to only RAID, I'm new to these things, and wasn't sure if something labelled a RAID tower needs to be used as such, or can be used as JBOD as well.

Thanks,

Patrick

EDIT: Read a little further down the page and it does support JBOD. A question though. do all these types of enclosures support JBOD? or only certain ones?

Edited by pmac

CBers

I have a Startech 4-Bay enclosure I use as a JBOD unit.

Those 8-Bay units seem very expensive, or is it just me.

@@CBers, yeah they're definitely not cheap... THIS 4-Bay seems to be pretty decently priced, but it's got some mixed reviews... I'm really looking for a decently priced JBOD enclosure I can use to mirror the external HDD's I'm using right now, and eventually convert to a FlexRaid system in the future if possible. Downsizing a bit, I think a 4-bay that could support 16TB would be enough for me, rather than going for an expensive 8-Bay unit.

CBers

I've never had any problems with my SrarTech unit.

Very handy for plugging disks in and checking what they are etc. ;)

CBers

@@pmac - have you looked at pooling your dives in the JBOD unit with something like Drive Bender?

It's very easy to set up and manage.