bman212121

bman212121

HI everyone, I'm new to Emby and was playing around with the DVR software. I was wondering if anyone knew if these feature exist or were even on the roadmap.

1. Stop a recording that is in progress

2. Fast forward / skip through an in progress recording

3. Resume where you left off on a in progress recording

Any DVR software I've used in the past 10 years has had these features, so it seems like they should be a fairly common scenario people run into. If you're recording a 30 minute show these might not be a big deal, but if you're recording a sporting event, you might not be able to sit down right when it starts. So being able to sit down late and fast forward through parts to catch back up is very useful. I always have to pad any series recordings for sports with an extra hour or two to make sure it gets recorded, so if I start the recording and catch up and watch the end, I can just end the recording so it doesn't go for another hour.

I did notice that if you watch the recording from the start, it will pad out the slider to accommodate the growing file size. So it seems like the functionality exists to be able to hop into a recording and have it generate a full progress bar of whatever is already recorded (So if it's 45 minutes into a recording you get a 45 minute slider) and then continue to grow from there. That way you can skip to 5, 10 or whatever mark you wish to start watching from as opposed to having to watch from the beginning each time to go into the active recording.

hi @@bman212121, yes your observations are correct and your suggestions are spot on. We are working hard to get the DVR features to that point in all of the Emby apps. Thanks !

• Like 1

• 11 months later...
bman212121

So I'm going to bump this thread from around a year ago I created. Between now and then Emby is able to stop recordings that are in progress, and fast forward works somewhat. Resume during a recording does not work still.