Emby in Ubuntu 16.04, spaces in path names

mlapoint

mlapoint

I am new to Emby and somewhat new to Ubuntu (although I used to be a DB programmer running on Unix).  I installed Emby on Ubuntu 16.04 and it is working fine.  However I want to put my movies on a WD My Cloud 4 TB device.  I actually had one and it is in the process of being replaced by WD via RMA so I know the file structure.

In the mean time, I am using a USB device connected to Ubuntu to test out how it will connect on the My Cloud device.  I have the movies in the following folder that I want to set up as a Library in Emby.  The path is everything within the quotes not including the quotes:

"/media/mlapoint/USB 3.0 (1)/Public/Shared Videos/Movies"

I know Linux has issues with spaces in directory names.  I have tried several different ways to deal with the spaces and they do not work.  For example:

1)  The above quoted string.

2)  /media/mlapoint/USB\ 3.0\ \(1\)//Public/Shared\ Videos//Movies and several variations of it

#2 works if I go to the terminal and "cd /media/mlapoint/USB\ 3.0\ \(1\)//Public/Shared\ Videos//Movies".  Unfortunately it does not work in the Library settings after I hit "Add Media Library/Folders/ +Add".

If anyone can help me, that would be great!

Thank You,

Mike LaPointe

thatoneguy99

why don't you mount it to a different place without spaces in the file name? You can do this with the UUID of the drive and an fstab entry. Is the folder you typed in where it auto mounted to?

Sent from my phone!

Edited by thatoneguy99

mlapoint