BBC iPlayer Plugin?

BigSteve84

BigSteve84

Hi guys

I'm interested in a BBC iplayer plugin, as I'm new to emby I don't no if it's been previously made or is in the works, I've never made a plugin myself so I don't no the work that's involved in making one, if it's not to much for my small brain I'm happy to learn if someone would point me in the right direction.

Thanks

dcrdev

Since the BBC don't have an API for iPlayer - or atleast one that's open to the general public, you'll need to scrape their pages for content and feed locations. This is done for a number of existing plugins using HtmlAgilityPack, so you'll want to learn that .Net and C#.

It's not terribly difficult to make a plugin, there's limited documentation on Github, but it's not complete and things like logging are not well documented; I suspect that's the primary reason there are not more plugins. I would use the ITV plugin as a reference as it's also using HtmlAgilityPack.

BigSteve84

Thanks for the pointers buddy, I no there is one made for kodi, would it be worth looking at that at all? Or would that be so far away from what is needed for Emby?

dcrdev

Thanks for the pointers buddy, I no there is one made for kodi, would it be worth looking at that at all? Or would that be so far away from what is needed for Emby?

Well the Kodi plugin is written in Python, so if you understand Python go ahead; otherwise there isn't much point the only benefit might be less time spent examining the output of each page.

I believe that's using the old BBC APi - before they closed it down. Might be as an example of how to lay out a plugin though.

Since the BBC don't have an API for iPlayer - or atleast one that's open to the general public, you'll need to scrape their pages for content and feed locations. This is done for a number of existing plugins using HtmlAgilityPack, so you'll want to learn that .Net and C#.